Sunday, 06 June 2010 | AP | Kashrut/Food
20 Sivan 5770 – June 2, 2010. – Perashat Shelah-Lekha
It is forbidden by Torah law to drink (or derive any other benefit from) wine used by non-Jews in idolatrous ceremonies, as it is forbidden to have any benefit from idolatry. It is also forbidden by Rabbinic decree to drink any non-Jewish wine (non-mevushal), even if it is not used for idolatrous rituals and even if those who make it are monotheists . The reason is the same as that for the prohibition of non-Jewish bread, namely a concern that drinking gentile wine may lead one to socialize excessively with non-Jews and intermarry with them.
Christians nowadays have the halakhic status of idol-worshippers. Therefore, one may not drink nor have any other benefit from their wine .
Pious individuals have the custom to refrain from drinking even wine (non-mevushal) which a gentile has looked at, even if he did not touch it .
The above rules apply also to wine made from raisins, as long as the raisins are removed from the wine .
Some authorities permit  hard liquor distilled from non-Jewish wine or the grapes used in making non-Jewish wine, while others forbid it .
 See Torot Emet 112.
 See Ribi Mordekhai ‘Amar, Dibré Shalom ve-Emet, Yoré De’a 30.